Ok License Renewal Grace Period

Unanimous votes in the Oklahoma House and Senate and the governor's signature provide some a grace period. You can now renew your license up to 30 days late without any extra ID. An icon used to represent a menu that can be toggled by interacting with this icon.

  • Ok License Renewal Grace Period Dates; Errors on OK Licenses. ISSUES & ANSWERS March 2002 No Grace Period by Gerald C. Zumwalt, MD Board Secretary/Medical Advisor. Oklahoma law (Title 59 O.S. § 491 & 492) is clear. Except for a very few exceptions (§ 492D), it is unlawful to practice medicine in Oklahoma without a medical license.
  • Oklahoma statutes allow for a thirty (30) day grace period after the expiration date of the license (Grace period ends on July 30, 2020) (63 O.S. Section 1-1702). Renewal applications must have a postmark no later than July 30, 2020. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, applicants cannot come to.
Featured ResourceAre You Overpaying for Car Insurance?

COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the DPS' online services to complete any relevant transactions. Follow the DPS' most recent updates for the latest information.

Errors on OK Licenses

The Oklahoma DPS has discovered that several licenses and ID cards have been misprinted. The error involves misplaced security holograms (placed on the back of the cards rather than the front). Click here to learn more about the misprinted cards including instructions on replacing your license or ID card.

Renew Your Driver's License in Oklahoma

Before your Oklahoma driver's license expires, you'll need to renew it with the OK Department of Public Safety (DPS) in order to continue driving legally in the state.

On this page you'll find information on how to renew your OK driver's license in person and while out of state, and special exemptions for military members.

  • If you need to renew your Oklahoma commercial driver's license (CDL), please see our guide on Renewing Your CDL in Oklahoma.
  • If you need to renew your Oklahoma ID card, please see our OK Identification Cards page.

When to Renew Your OK Driver's License

Your Oklahoma driver license is valid for 4 years at a time and expires on the last day of the month of your application.

If you'd like the OK DMV to send you a reminder to renew your license, sign up for an OK DMV driver license/ID card renewal notification by visiting the website. The Department of Public Safety will send you a renewal reminder email before your card expires.

Batch virus download app. Your requirements will vary based on whether your driver's license is currently:

  • Valid.
  • Expired.
  • Suspended.
  • Lost, damaged, or stolen.

To renew your Oklahoma driver's license, you must visit an Oklahoma DMV office in person. You cannot renew online.

If you are out of state, you can renew by mail.

If you've already renewed your license, you can check the status of your renewal by contacting the OK DPS.

Valid Driver's License

If you hold a valid Oklahoma driver's license, you can renew it up to 1 year before it expires.

Expired Driver License

If your OK driver's license has been expired for 3 years or less, you can still renew it, but you'll need to provide proof of your identity. See the “In-Person Driver's License Renewal' section below.

If your OK driver license has been expired for more than 3 years, you'll need to pass the following tests before you can renew it:

  • Vision exam.
  • Written driving knowledge test.
  • Driving skills test.

Suspended Drivers License

If your Oklahoma driver license is suspended, you'll need to reinstate your driving privileges before you can renew it.

For more information, please see our page on Suspended Licenses in Oklahoma.

Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Driver's License

If your Oklahoma driver license has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can still renew it if you're eligible.

Do not drive without a valid driver's license in Oklahoma. To request a replacement OK driver's license, please see our page dedicated to Replacing a Lost License in Oklahoma.

Renew Your OK Driver's License

To renew your Oklahoma driver's license, you must visit your local OK DMV driver license testing office in person. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) provides a complete list of accepted identification and residency documents.

You'll need to:

  • Provide a primary form of identification, such as your:
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • U.S. passport.
    • Oklahoma driver's license.
  • Provide a secondary form of identification, such as:
    • Another primary form of identification.
    • Your Social Security card.
    • Your health insurance card.
  • Submit proof of your U.S. citizenship or legal presence (if your OK driver license has been expired for more than 1 year), such as your:
    • U.S. passport.
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • Foreign passport with I-94 card/number.
  • Pay the $38.50 renewal fee.
NOTE: If your Oklahoma driver's license has been expired for more than 3 years, you'll also need to pass the following tests before you can renew it:
  • Vision exam.
  • Written driving knowledge test.
  • Driving skills test.

Non-U.S. Citizens

If you are not a U.S. citizen, your OK driver license will display the word “Temporary' on it.

It will be valid for 4 years or for the duration of your legal stay, if it is shorter than 4 years.

You'll need to visit an Oklahoma DPS officein person and provide:

  • All of the documents listed above.
  • Proof of your identity and legal presence, such as your:
    • Foreign passport and I-94 card or number.
    • Alien registration.

You can view the Oklahoma DMV's complete list of accepted identity and residency documents.

Oklahoma Military Member Exemptions

Notice for Military Members Stationed in Germany

Pa License Renewal Grace Period

If you are currently stationed in Germany, please be aware that some states require you to have a valid U.S. driver's license in addition to your USAREUR license. Read our article for more information.

Your expired Oklahoma driver license (and that of your spouse and/or dependents) will remain valid for 60 days after your discharge date, if you are:

Pa license renewal grace period
  • An active duty military member stationed outside of Oklahoma.
  • The spouse or dependent of an out-of-state military member.

To renew your OK driver's license while stationed out of state, follow the steps in the Out-of-State Oklahoma Residents section below. You'll need to provide copies of your military orders if your Oklahoma drivers license has already expired.

Out-of-State Oklahoma Residents

If you are out of state, you can renew your Oklahoma drivers license by mail up to 1 year before your expiration date. You'll need to:

  • Write a letter that includes your:
    • Full name.
    • Date of birth.
    • OK driver license number.
    • Oklahoma address.
    • Out-of-state mailing address.
  • Provide a primary form of identification, such as your:
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • U.S. passport.
    • Oklahoma driver's license.
  • Provide a secondary proof of identity document, such as:
    • Another primary form of identification.
    • Your Social Security card.
    • Your health insurance card.
  • Include a check payable to “Department of Public Safety' for the $38.50 renewal fee.

NOTE: Military members need to include a copy of their orders with the letter.

Mail the above to:

Department of Public Safety
Driver License Services, Renewal By Mail
P.O. Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK 73111

Visit the Oklahoma DMV website for a complete list of accepted identity and residency documents.

NOTE: You cannot renew by mail if you are not a U.S. citizen, or if your last drivers license renewal was not completed in person.

Advertisment

DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver

Ok License Renewal Grace Period

It's like having the answers before you take the test. Only $9.95!

  • Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
  • Just print and go to the DMV
  • 100% Money Back Guarantee

Among all the occasions you don't want to forget in life - your wedding anniversary, your mother's birthday, payday - your driver's license expiration date ranks..well, it ranks somewhere up there.

After all, while forgetting the first few events leads to the silent treatment and awkward family gatherings, forgetting to renew your license can bring:

  • Financial repercussions. You might have to pay late fees or, depending on how long it's been expired, the cost to apply all over again.
  • The vision, written, and driving exams. If you have to reapply for your driver's license, most likely you'll have to pass these exams again.
  • Traffic tickets. Cops aren't happy when they find drivers without valid licenses.

License Renewal Grace Periods

Michigan Grace Period License Renewal

Fortunately, some states are more forgiving than others in regards to an expired license. These states offer grace periods in which a driver can renew an expired license without repercussions, or even drive with it.

Grace period 'benefits' vary by state. In Alabama, for example, drivers enjoy a generous 60-day grace period after which the license expires, extending it for another 60 days, making it still legal for drivers to get behind the wheel.

Hawaii offers a 90-day grace period but without driving privileges; the license immediately becomes invalid after the expiration date passes. Drivers can renew a Hawaiian drivers license within this 90-day time frame without the penalty of late fees, or what the Hawaii DMV terms 'reactivation fees.'

Yet, Louisiana drivers have only a 10-day grace period in which to renew an expired license before a $15 delinquent fee kicks in.

Before it's actually time to renew your license, check your state's license renewal requirements for information on grace periods; if you need further assistance, contact your DMV.

Ohio License Renewal Grace Period

Has your license ever expire before you were able to renew it? What grace period - or penalties - did your state offer?